Eventsnews

Misleading headlines leave public confused

A study released by the Canadian Pediatric Society (CPS) shows a wide range of issues placing Canadian youth, both new Canadians and soil-born, at risk. Legal gun owners are left frustrated as headlines across the country imply a “child a day” is shot in Ontario. A brief review of the study itself reveals that the scope may be too broad to provide an actual foundation for the headline’s implication.  Everything from Nerf guns to youth gang members shot by police, and beyond are included.

Fom Dr. Caillan Langmann;

  1. The major flaw with this study is the type of injuries is not specified in the paper. The ICD codes (disease codes) include pellet guns and other air gun injuries which would involve airsoft and paintball.
  2. As well “accidental injury” includes a legal intervention such as police shooting or discharge. I would not include this as an accidental injury necessarily.
  3. The age group cohorts are less than 15 and 15-24. The injuries and assaults in the less than 15 are very small numbers and obviously the majority of data comes from the more adult age group. Many of these may not be children as we define them (<18) at all. In medicine a pediatric patient is <18 years old. Hence no real valid data on pediatric patients can be obtained from this study.
  4. Rural can be an area like Brampton. The major real numbers of assaults and injuries come from the Urban areas. More specifically associated with a demographic that is involved in criminal activity. This cannot be applied to your average rural gun owner.
  5. Any recommendation, if any can be made from this study, would be that to reduce harm, we should be targeting at risk youth involved in pre-crime or low risk crime to reduce their entry into criminal risk behaviour.
Dr. Langmann, MD PhD FRCPS ABEM, Assistant Professor Medicine McMaster University, author of Canadian Firearms Legislation and Effects on Homicide 1974 to 2008.

You can read the CPS study here

Media, across the country is eager to feed this story to the masses, with their own intentional, emotion-based spin.

mediaspin

~CTV

It should be noted that the articles clearly leave out some important data from the study itself; whether the firearms are or are not legally owned and the majority of “victims” are youth between 15-24 from urban areas. This may imply gang activity is prevalent in the data. The study also includes injury due to Nerf guns and paintball, which are not firearms and do not reflect the media’s description of “gunshots”.  

figure 1

From their own study, the trends are obvious.

From Professor Gary Mauser; “There were 17 unintentional firearms fatalities in 2012 of all ages — the most recent year data is available from StatsCan. Here is an analysis I did of StatsCan data a few years ago. On average, one child under 10 is accidentally killed each year by gunshot.”

Mauser

Gary Mauser is a leading authority on Canadian firearm related issues and legislation critic

 

To engage in the effort to improve the safety of Canadian youth, we need to have an honest, fact-based discussion on these issues. The CCFR is committed to advocacy through education and welcome media, political figures and the general public to contact us for expert support.

wow

Previous post

Team CCFR gears up for the Toronto Sportsman Show

Next post

CCFR community answers the call and aids young Canadian athlete

Tracey Wilson

Tracey Wilson

Les titres trompeurs laissent le public perplexe

27 mars 2017

Les titres trompeurs laissent le public perplexe

Une étude publiée par la Société canadienne de pédiatrie (SCP) montre un large éventail de problèmes qui mettent en danger les jeunes Canadiens, qu'ils soient nouveaux ou nés au sol. Les propriétaires d'armes à feu légales sont frustrés alors que les manchettes à travers le pays laissent entendre qu'un " enfant par jour " est abattu en Ontario. Un bref examen de l'étude elle-même révèle que son champ d'application est peut-être trop large pour fournir une base réelle à l'implication de la manchette. Tout est inclus, des pistolets Nerf aux membres de gangs de jeunes abattus par la police, et plus encore.

De la part du Dr. Caillan Langmann ;

  1. Le principal défaut de cette étude est que le type de blessures n'est pas spécifié dans le document. Les codes ICD (codes de maladie) comprennent les blessures causées par les armes à plomb et autres armes à air comprimé, ce qui implique l'airsoft et le paintball.
  2. De même, le terme "blessure accidentelle" inclut une intervention légale telle qu'un tir ou une décharge de la police. Je n'inclurais pas nécessairement ceci comme une blessure accidentelle.
  3. The age group cohorts are less than 15 and 15-24. The injuries and assaults in the less than 15 are very small numbers and obviously the majority of data comes from the more adult age group. Many of these may not be children as we define them (<18) at all. In medicine a pediatric patient is <18 years old. Hence no real valid data on pediatric patients can be obtained from this study.
  4. Une zone rurale peut être une zone comme Brampton. Les chiffres réels les plus importants d'agressions et de blessures proviennent des zones urbaines. Elles sont plus spécifiquement associées à un groupe démographique impliqué dans des activités criminelles. Cela ne peut pas être appliqué à votre propriétaire d'armes à feu rural moyen.
  5. Toute recommandation, si l'on peut en faire une à partir de cette étude, serait que pour réduire les dommages, nous devrions cibler les jeunes à risque impliqués dans la pré-criminalité ou la criminalité à faible risque pour réduire leur entrée dans un comportement criminel à risque.
Dr Langmann, MD PhD FRCPS ABEM, professeur adjoint de médecine à l'Université McMaster, auteur de Canadian Firearms Legislation and Effects on Homicide 1974 to 2008.

Vous pouvez lire l'étude du CPS ici

Les médias de tout le pays sont impatients de transmettre cette histoire aux masses, avec leur propre interprétation intentionnelle, basée sur l'émotion.

médiastin

~CTV

Il convient de noter que les articles omettent clairement certaines données importantes de l'étude elle-même, à savoir si les armes à feu sont ou non détenues légalement et si la majorité des "victimes" sont des jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans vivant en zone urbaine. Cela peut laisser entendre que l'activité des gangs est prévalente dans les données. L'étude inclut également les blessures dues aux pistolets Nerf et au paintball, qui ne sont pas des armes à feu et ne correspondent pas à la description des "coups de feu" par les médias.  

figure 1

D'après leur propre étude, les tendances sont évidentes.

Du professeur Gary Mauser ; "Il y a eu 17 décès non intentionnels par arme à feu en 2012, tous âges confondus - l'année la plus récente pour laquelle des données sont disponibles auprès de Statistique Canada. Voici une analyse que j'ai faite des données de Statistique Canada il y a quelques années. En moyenne, un enfant de moins de 10 ans est tué accidentellement chaque année par balle. "

Mauser

Gary Mauser est une autorité de premier plan en matière de questions et de législation sur les armes à feu au Canada.

 

Pour s'engager dans l'effort d'améliorer la sécurité des jeunes canadiens, nous devons avoir une discussion honnête et basée sur les faits sur ces questions. LeCCFR s'engage à défendre la cause par l'éducation et invite les médias, les personnalités politiques et le grand public à nouscontacter pour obtenir le soutien d'experts.

wow

Défendez vos droits

Faites la différence en nous soutenant dans notre lutte pour nos droits de propriété.
flèche vers le bas