CCFR طلب أمر قضائي - موراي سميث شهادة

13 يناير/كانون الثاني 2021

CCFR طلب أمر قضائي - موراي سميث شهادة

وقد قدم المجلس طلبا قضائيا ( رقم ملف المحكمة تى - 577 - 20 ) الى المحكمة الفيدرالية " لوقف " حظر الاسلحة الذى فرضته منظمة المؤتمر الاسلامى فى 1 مايو حتى يتم النظر فى القضية الرئيسية والبت فيها من قبل القاضى .

CCFR - كندا. إشعار الحركة - أمر قضائي (00047724xD5450) (1)

وبالإضافة إلى قيادة اللجنة للأمر القضائي، فإن كلا من أركادي بوشليف لدوهيرتي وآخرين ضد AGC وآخرين. (رقم الملف T-677-20) وكريستين جينيرو من مجموعة من الأطراف الممثلة ذاتيا (ملف المحكمة رقم T-735-20) انضما إلينا في طلب الأمر القضائي وظهرا في جلسة الاستماع عبر الإنترنت لاستجواب "الشاهد الخبير" للدفاع موراي سميث، المدير السابق لخدمات دعم الأسلحة النارية المتخصصة (SFSS) ضمن برنامج الأسلحة النارية الكندي التابع لشرطة الخيالة الملكية الكندية.

 

وفي حين أن هناك عدة دعاوى قضائية تعارض SOR 2020/96 (حظر الأسلحة النارية)، لم تقدم أي فرق قانونية أخرى أو تشارك في عملية الأمر القضائي.

الآن ، ليس هناك ما يضمن الفوز لهذا الأمر القضائي -- بعبارات بسيطة هو تسديدة بعيدة ، ولكن في CCFR وعدنا أصحاب السلاح كنا محاربة هذا مع كل ما لدينا ، كنا لا تترك أي حجر دون تغيير ولا شارع غير مستكشفة وكنا نعني ذلك. جاء هذا الأمر القضائي على حساب مالي كبير، لكننا نرفض أن نقوم بنصف الطريق فقط مع أي شيء. لذا ها نحن هنا ستكون جلسة الاستماع في 18 يناير وسننشر رابطا لعدد محدود من 800 شخص لضبطه وعرضه على الهواء مباشرة تقريبا.

وعبء الإثبات أو تبرير إصدار أمر زجري أعلى بكثير مما هو عليه بالنسبة للحالة الرئيسية، ولذلك فإن الخسارة في مرحلة الأمر القضائي ليس لها أي تأثير على ما إذا كانت القضية الرئيسية ستنجح أم لا. ولكن عدم المحاولة ليس خيارا بالنسبة لنا.

إشعار التطبيق (نسخة معتمدة) (00045808xD5450)[17431]

مرفقة ستجد النص المطول لشهادة واستجواب شاهد الحكومة، السيد سميث. هناك الكثير لتمشيط من خلال لكننا أردنا أن نقدم لكم بعض النقاط البارزة لاهتمامكم فضلا عن النص في انها برمتها للنظر فيها.

JSS لورا وارنر (فريق CCFR قيادة الفريق القانوني) استجواب سميث: 

"أنا خبير" 

وارنر: يمين. وأعتقد أننا سنكون على أرضية مشتركة، فقط في توضيح، أنه استنادا إلى سيرتك الذاتية، فمن الواضح أنك لست محاميا وبالتالي مؤهلاتك لا تستمد من أي خبرة معينة في التفسير القانوني. هذا صحيح؟

سميث: لا. مؤهلاتي تقنية في المقام الأول.

وارنر: يمين. وفقط لتأكيد من سيرتك الذاتية، أيضا، أنت لست مهندسا، وبالتالي مؤهلاتك في هذا الصدد لا تتعلق بأي خبرة معينة في الهندسة، أليس كذلك؟

سميث: لا، ليس لدي أي تعليم رسمي في الهندسة.

~ Pg 26

"اكتشف بنفسك - إنه مستقيم إلى حد ما إلى الأمام" 

وارنر: وهكذا، في رأيك، ما هي أفضل طريقة لمالك السلاح لمعرفة ما إذا كان لديهم شيء وصفته للتو بأنه متغير غير مسمى؟

سميث: حسنا، أصحاب الأسلحة النارية سيكون لديهم عدد من الخيارات. ويتمثل أحدها في معرفة ذلك بأنفسهم، وهو أمر ليس بالصعوبة التي قد يقولها البعض. و -- معظم المتغيرات التي هي في التداول في كندا واضحة للجميع والمتغيرات. في الواقع ، فإن أصحاب شراء عادة السلاح الناري لأنه كان البديل. لذا ، على سبيل المثال ، فإن أكبر مجموعة واحدة من الأسلحة النارية المذكورة في اللوائح هي منصة AR. هناك حوالي 90,000 من هذه الأسلحة النارية المتداولة في كندا. ومنصة AR معروفة لأصحاب الأسلحة النارية ، وعادة ما يشتري الناس واحدة من تلك الأسلحة النارية لأنهم يعرفون أنها متغير من AR-15 ، وهذه سمة مرغوبة. لذلك بالنسبة للغالبية العظمى من هذه الأسلحة النارية ومتغيراتها ، فإن نسب وتاريخ وعلاقة هذه الأسلحة النارية بالأسلحة النارية الأصلية معروفة جيدا. هناك نسبة مئوية حيث الارتباط مع السلاح الناري الأم ربما يكون أقل وضوحا، ولكن بالنسبة للأغلبية، انها واضحة جدا.

وارنر: واثق. وهكذا سوف تفهم أن عواقب جعل ما يمكن أن ينظر إليه على أنه استنتاج غير صحيح في هذا الأمر له عواقب جنائية محتملة، أليس كذلك؟ لأنه إذا كنت في حيازة أو استخدام سلاح ناري مقيد أو محظور دون السليم، دعونا نقول، إذن للقيام بذلك، كنت أفهم أن العواقب لذلك يمكن أن تكون جنائية، أليس كذلك؟

سميث: نعم. هناك احتمال لعواقب إجرامية.

~ pg 44

أركادي بوشليف (قائد فريق OLA) استجواب سميث: 

"استخدام هذه البنادق مثير للجدل بين الصيادين - أراقب غرف الدردشة الخاصة بك" 

بوشليف: حسنًا. وأود أن أقترح عليك أن استخدام سلاح ناري هو عضو في الأسر التسع للصيد كان معقولا أيضا بشكل عام -- بالمعنى غير القانوني لهذا المصطلح؟

سميث: ما يمكنني قوله هو أن الأفراد أبلغوا عن استخدام الأسلحة النارية من تلك العائلات التسع لغرض الصيد، ولكن ليس لدي أي أرقام دقيقة عن عددهم. لا أستطيع أن أقول أنه واسع الانتشار وعلاوة على ذلك، أود أن أشير إلى أن استخدام هذه الأسلحة النارية للصيد هو موضوع مثير للجدل داخل مجتمع الصيد، كما تشير تقاريرهم القصصية وغرف الدردشة وما إلى ذلك. لا يزال هناك بعض النقاش داخل هذا القطاع حول ما إذا كانت الأسلحة النارية ذات النمط العسكري مناسبة أم لا.

~ pg 258

هذه ليست سوى مقتطفات قليلة من مئات الصفحات من الشهادات الأولية واستجواب موراي سميث خلال عملية الأمر القضائي. ويمكن استخدام هذه الشهادة، وسوف تستخدم، كدليل في القضية الرئيسية.

استجواب نص موراي سميث Part1

نص موراي سميث (تابع)

إذا كنت تدعم العمل القيم ل CCFR ، يرجى النظر في دعمه. وكأكبر حالة وأكثرها تعقيدا، تجاوزت نفقاتنا بالفعل 1.1 مليون دولار. ويجري استخدام الكثير من الأدلة التي قدمها الفريق القانوني التابع للهيئة للمساعدة في دعم القضايا الأخرى الأصغر حجما، ونحن سعداء بالمساعدة.

مقال كتبه تريسي ويلسون

الدفاع عن حقوقك

تحدث فرقا من خلال دعمنا ونحن نكافح من أجل حقوق الملكية لدينا.
السهم لأسفل

CCFR Injunction Application - Murray Smith Testimony

January 13, 2021

CCFR Injunction Application - Murray Smith Testimony

The CCFR has filed an injunction (court file number T-577-20) application with the federal court to "stay" the May 1 OIC gun ban until the main case can be heard and decided by the judge.

CCFR v Canada. Notice of Motion - Injunction (00047724xD5450) (1)

In addition to the CCFR leading the injunction, both Arkadi Bouchelev for Doherty et al vs AGC et al. (file number T-677-20) and Christine Generoux from a group of self-represented parties (court file number T-735-20) joined us in our injunction application and appeared at the online hearing to question the defense’s “expert witness” Murray Smith, former manager of the Specialized Firearm Support Services (SFSS) within the Canadian Firearms Program of the RCMP.

 

While there are multiple court actions opposing SOR 2020/96 (the gun ban), no other legal teams filed or participated in the injunction process.

Now, there is no guarantee of a win for this injunction - in simple terms it is a long shot, but at the CCFR we promised gun owners we would fight this with everything we've got, we'd leave no stone unturned nor avenue unexplored and we meant it. This injunction came at a considerable financial expense, but we refuse to go only half way with anything. So here we are. The injunction hearing will be on January 18 and we will post a link for a limited number of 800 people to tune in and view it live virtually.

The burden of proof or justification for an injunction is considerably higher than for the main case, so a loss at the injunction stage has no bearing on whether or not the main case will be successful. But not trying isn't an option for us.

Notice of Application (Certified Copy) (00045808xD5450)[17431]

Attached you will find the lengthy text of the testimony and questioning of the government's witness, Mr. Smith. There is a lot there to comb through but we wanted to provide you with some highlights for your interest as well as the text in it's entirety for your consideration.

JSS Laura Warner (Team CCFR legal team lead) questioning Smith: 

"I'm an expert" 

Warner: Right. And I think we would be on common ground, just in clarifying, that based on your CV, it's evident that you're not a lawyer and so your qualifications don't derive from any particular expertise in legal interpretation; that's right?

Smith: No. My qualifications are primarily technical.

Warner: Right. And just to confirm from your CV, also, you're not an engineer, and so your qualifications in that regard don't relate to any particular expertise in engineering, right?

Smith: No. I don't have any formal education in engineering.

~ Pg 26

"Figure it out yourself - it's fairly straight forward" 

Warner: And so, in your view, what would be the best way for a gun owner to find out whether or not they have something that you just described as an unnamed variant?

Smith: Well, firearms owners would have a number of options. One would be to figure it out for themselves, which is not as difficult as some would say. The -- most of the variants that are in circulation in Canada are obvious to everyone as variants. In fact, the owners typically purchase the firearm because it was a variant. So, for example, the largest single group of firearms named in the regulations is the AR platform. There's about 90,000 of these firearms in circulation in Canada. And the AR platform is well-known to firearms owners, and people typically buy one of those firearms because they know it is a variant of the AR-15, and that is a desirable characteristic. So for the vast majority of these firearms and their variants, the lineage, history, and relationship of these firearms to the original firearm is well-known. There is a percentage where the association with the parent firearm is perhaps less clear, but for the majority, it's pretty straightforward.

Warner: Sure. And so you would understand that, of course, the consequences of making what could be perceived as an incorrect conclusion on this has potential criminal consequences, right? Because if I am in possession or using a restricted or prohibited firearm without proper, let's say, permission to do so, you understand that the consequences for that are potentially criminal, right?

Smith: Yes. There's a potential for criminal consequences.

~ pg 44

Arkadi Bouchelev (OLA team lead) questioning Smith: 

"Using these guns is controversial among hunters - I monitor your chat rooms" 

Bouchelev: Okay. And I would suggest to you that using a firearm that is a member of the nine families for hunting was also reasonable in a general -- in a non-legal sense of that term?

Smith: What I can say is that individuals have reported using firearms from those nine families for the purpose of hunting, but I don't have any exact numbers on how many. I don't -- I couldn't say that it's widespread. And, furthermore, I would point out that the use of such firearms for hunting is a controversial topic within the hunting community, as indicated by their anecdotal reports and chat rooms and so on. It's -- there's still some debate within that sector as to whether the military pattern firearms are suitable or not.

~ pg 258

These are just a few excerpts from the hundreds of pages of initial testimony and questioning of Murray Smith during the injunction process. This testimony can and will be used as evidence in the main case.

Questioning Transcript of Murray Smith Part1

Transcript of Murray Smith (continued)

If you support the valuable work of the CCFR, please consider supporting it. As the largest and most complex case, our expenses have already exceeded $1.1M. Much of the evidence produced by the CCFR legal team is being used to help support the other, smaller cases and we are glad to help.

Article written by Tracey Wilson

Related Posts

Stand Up For Your Rights

Make a difference by supporting us as we fight for our property rights.
arrow-down