CCFR禁止令--书中的历史

2021年1月19日

CCFR禁止令--书中的历史

我们正处在一个奇怪的时代。在其他任何时候,我们都会看到法庭上挤满了有关各方。相反,我们参加的是 "变焦法庭",这也许是一个小小的祝福,因为我们在任何时候都有1000-1300名观众,远远超过了容量。我们不可能在法庭上容纳2300名想要参加的注册者。随着案件的进展,已经开始准备在未来的听证会上容纳更多的参与者。

副首席法官Jocelyne Gagne证实,CCFR诉加拿大禁令听证会是联邦法院历史上出席人数最多的司法程序,而这还没有让所有人都参与进来。这表明此案对加拿大人的巨大重要性。

这次禁令听证会并不是联邦法院的主要挑战,而是在该大案审理和裁决之前,"暂停 "枪支禁令的禁令。另外两个团队加入了CCFR的努力;迈克尔-多尔蒂等人(T-677-20)和克里斯蒂娜-吉纳鲁等人(T-735-20)。

没有其他法律团队参与这一重要步骤。在CCFR会议上,我们向你们承诺,我们将竭尽全力与之斗争,而且我们是认真的。我们不打算只走一半的路。

必须满足三个标准才能获得强制令。 

  1. 存在有待审判的严重问题
  2. 可能造成不可挽回的损害和
  3. 不便的平衡。

由CCFR的劳拉-华纳领导的三个小组各有一个小时的时间阐述他们的案件,说明为什么加涅法官应该颁发禁令。然后,由3名律师组成的政府法律团队有自己的机会进行反驳。最后提供了一个简短的反驳机会,给加涅法官留下了许多需要审查和决定的地方。目前还没有迹象表明对该申请的回应需要多长时间,但请关注本网站。一旦我们知道 - 你就会知道。

讨论的主要内容。 

  • 该办公室对猎人和运动射击者的影响--唯一受影响的人
  • 对加拿大枪械企业的破坏性影响
  • 摧毁加拿大枪支文化的企图
  • 合法拥有枪支并不代表对公共安全有过度的风险
  • OIC是模糊和混乱的,将导致合法的所有者仅仅因为拥有所有权而受到刑事起诉。
  • "变体 "和其他术语的定义是模糊的,没有定义,这是故意的。
  • FRT被执法部门用作参考,但个人业主却无法实时获得它,而且它是不断变化的。
  • 政府的明星证人默里-史密斯不是一个独立或可靠的证人或专家。史密斯的宣誓书是否可以被接受,还有待决定。
  • 政府的法律团队为《条例》的审查提出了一个版本,要求对《条例》的审查非常尊重,甚至相当于没有审查。 案例法并不支持这种说法。
  • 像这样的刑事法律有最低要求。有令人信服的证据表明该条例违反了反对模糊性的原则
  • 加拿大皇家骑警在解释OIC方面的作用是独特的问题。这个过程是不透明的,根据总检察长的说法,不受法院监督。这违反了我们的司法系统的核心原则,需要进行审查。

总体印象。 

劳拉-华纳(Laura Warner),JSS(CCFR);劳拉提供了一个具有破坏性的、精美的、更具有司法性质的论证,着重于法律技术方面。她的论证严密而稳健,非常错综复杂。对于一个外行人来说可能很难理解,但法官却不一样。她的陈述水平需要令人难以置信的准备、知识和谨慎。一个真正的专家。

Arkadi Bouchelev(Bouchelev Law);Arkadi对OIC的更多技术部分、孔径问题、10k焦耳、变体等进行了详细、机械的剖析。他的主题知识水平和对默里-史密斯的宣誓书的直接打击,令人叹为观止。

Christine Generoux(自我代表);虽然不是律师,但Christine为受影响的人发出了受欢迎的声音。她详细、动人的演讲给所有听众留下了深刻印象,因为她详细介绍了更多的社会、文化和哲学论点。作为 "小人物 "的真正捍卫者,她在法律专家的竞技场上坚持自己的观点,并受到全国各地成千上万人的欢呼。

 

团队首席律师劳拉-华纳在禁制令听证会后有这样的说法。

"副首席大法官加涅很专注,这一直是你对法官的期望。有很多密集而复杂的材料需要她去消化。她的问题是深思熟虑的,表明她在倾听并参与材料。 所要求的救济类型是特殊的,不常被批准。我们尽最大努力让法院了解到,在这个不寻常的案件中,需要一些相应的救济,这涉及到基本的价值观,包括需要合理明确的刑事法律。

现在发生了什么? 

副首席法官加涅将审查所有提交的材料,并确定是否将在本案中批准禁令的责任。没有提供关于这将需要多长时间的时间表,但重要的是要注意她在这里有很多事情要考虑。CCFR将在决定出来的时候公布。

强制令的举证责任或理由比主要案件要高得多,因此在强制令阶段的失利对主要案件是否会成功没有影响。但不尝试对我们来说不是一个选项。

#FunFact

在加拿大,#CCFRinjunction这个标签整天都在流行。

你可以通过以下方式支持CCFR的工作,以拯救你的枪支。 

 

 

相关帖子

2023 年 10 月 30 日
2023 年 10 月 17 日
2023 年 9 月 27 日

为你的权利而站起来

通过支持我们为我们的财产权利而战,使我们与众不同。
箭头向下

CCFR Injunction - History in the books

January 19, 2021

CCFR Injunction - History in the books

We are in strange times. During any other time we would have seen a courtroom packed solid with interested parties. Instead, we took part in "zoom court", perhaps a small blessing because we were well over capacity with 1000- 1300 viewers at any one time. We would never have fit the 2300 registrants who wanted to attend, into a courtroom. Preparations are already underway to accommodate far more attendees for future hearings as the case progresses.

Associate Chief Justice Jocelyne Gagne confirmed that the CCFR v Canada injunction hearing is the highest attended judicial process in the history of the Federal Court, and that's without letting everyone in. This shows the monumental importance of this case for Canadians.

This injunction hearing was not the main federal court challenge, but an injunction to "stay" the gun ban until that big case can be heard and decided. Two other teams joined the CCFR in this effort; Michael Doherty et al (T-677-20)  and Christine Generoux et al (T-735-20).

NO OTHER legal teams participated in this important step. At the CCFR we promised you we'd fight this with everything we've got, and we meant it. We don't intend to ever go just half way.

There are three criteria that must be met to be awarded an injunction; 

  1. the existence of a serious issue to be tried
  2. the possibility of irreparable harm and
  3. the balance of inconvenience.

The three teams, lead by the CCFR's Laura Warner each had one hour to lay out their case as to why Justice Gagne should grant an injunction. The government's struggling legal team consisting of 3 lawyers then had their own opportunity to argue against it. A brief opportunity to rebut was provided at the end of the day, leaving Justice Gagne with much to review and decide. There is no indication of how long it will take for a response to the application but watch this site. As soon as we know - you'll know.

The main points discussed: 

  • The effects of this OIC on hunters and sport shooters - the only people affected
  • The devastating effects on Canadian firearms businesses
  • The attempt to destroy Canadian gun culture
  • That legal gun ownership does not represent a disproportionate risk to public safety
  • That the OIC is vague and confusing and will result in legal owners being exposed to criminal prosecution for mere ownership
  • That the definitions for "variant" and other terms are vague and undefined, intentionally.
  • That the FRT is used as a reference by law enforcement, yet individual owners do not have access to it in real time, and it's ever-changing.
  • That the government's star witness, Murray Smith is not an independent or reliable witness or expert. Whether or not Smith's affidavit is admissible has yet to be decided.
  • That the government's legal team presents a version for the review of the Regulation that calls for so much deference that it amounts to no review at all.  The caselaw does not support that.
  • That there are minimum requirements for criminal laws like this. There is compelling evidence that this Regulation offends the doctrine against vagueness
  • That the RCMP’s role in interpreting the OIC is uniquely problematic. The process is opaque and, according to the AGC, not subject to court supervision. That offends core tenets of our system of justice and warrants scrutiny

Overall Impressions: 

Laura Warner, JSS (CCFR); Laura delivered a devastating, beautifully-crafted argument of a more juridical nature, focusing on the technical legal aspect. Her arguments were tight and sound and very intricate. Possibly hard to follow for a layman, but the judge is anything but. Her level of presentation takes incredible preparation, knowledge and care. A true pro.

Arkadi Bouchelev (Bouchelev Law); Arkadi delivered a detailed, mechanical dissection of the more technical parts of the OIC, bore diameter problems, 10k joules, variants etc. His level of subject knowledge and direct hits on the affidavit of Murray Smith were wonderful to watch.

Christine Generoux (self rep); While not a lawyer, Christine delivered a welcomed voice for the people affected. Her detailed, moving delivery was impressive to all who listened, as she detailed the more social, cultural and philosophical arguments. A true champion for "the little guy" she held her own in an arena of legal experts and was cheered on by thousands across the country.

 

Team lead counsel Laura Warner had this to say after the injunction hearing:

"Associate Chief Justice Gagne was dialed in, which is always what you’re hoping for with a judge. There was a lot of dense and complicated material for her to digest. Her questions were thoughtful and showed that she was listening and was engaged with the material.  The type of relief requested is exceptional and not granted often. We did our best to impress on the Court the need for some proportional relief in this unusual case, which engages fundamental values, including the need for reasonably clear criminal laws."

What happens now? 

Associate Chief Justice Gagne will review all submissions and make a determination if the burden for an injunction will be granted in this case. There is not timeline provided on how long this will take, but it is important to note she has a lot to consider here. The CCFR will publish the decision the moment it is available.

The burden of proof or justification for an injunction is considerably higher than for the main case, so a loss at the injunction stage has no bearing on whether or not the main case will be successful. But not trying isn’t an option for us.

#FunFact

The hashtag #CCFRinjunction was trending in Canada all day ...

You can support the work of the CCFR to save your guns by ... 

 

 

Article written by Tracey Wilson

Related Posts

Stand Up For Your Rights

Make a difference by supporting us as we fight for our property rights.
arrow-down