自由派援引S.39,拒绝提供证据

2021年6月16日

自由派援引S.39,拒绝提供证据

今天,司法部的Bruce Hughson向联邦法院转交了一份关于我们起诉加拿大总检察长的案件的通知。该通知是为了通知法院,政府已经援引了《加拿大证据法》第39条。这是枢密院书记官可以采取的行动,将政府不想让公众看到的任何材料 "保密"。这使得这些材料,在这种情况下,政府的证据,超出了任何人的范围,甚至法院。据称,当材料非常敏感,披露它有悖于公众利益时,才会行使这种全面的权力。 

阅读该通知。

援引S.39的证书是由枢密院临时书记员Janice Charette签署的。请记住,在5月底,加涅法官命令政府只向她提供证据,而不是向公众提供。然后,她将评估这些材料是否过于敏感而不能公开。看来,政府认为他们用来禁止仅由持证枪支所有者拥有的多达一百万件枪支的证据过于秘密(或危险),甚至连联邦法官都无法查看。

许多问题涌上心头。在政府的证据中,有什么东西是如此机密或对国家安全有如此大的危险,甚至连加拿大联邦法院的副首席法官都看不到?这可能是什么呢?会不会是政府根本没有证据,而禁酒令只是一个分裂加拿大人和确保城市选票的政治楔子问题?如果是这样,这将是对政府权力的一种令人难以置信的腐败使用。为什么政府不公平对待枪支所有者?我们不是罪犯,我们没有做任何事来应得这些。

无论如何,这不是发生在我们案件上的最糟糕的事情。我们的团队将要求法官作出不利于政府的 "不利推论",即他们所隐藏的任何东西都会损害他们的案件,或者至少不会帮助他们。这有可能大大损害他们的辩护能力。 

无论如何,这已经成为贾斯汀-特鲁多、比尔-布莱尔和新任总检察长大卫-拉梅蒂的自由党政府的典型恶意交易。他们说,"开放和透明的政府",以及 "基于事实的政策制定"...

在此支持CCFR的案件:https://membership.firearmrights.ca/legal_challenge

相关帖子

2023 年 10 月 30 日
2023 年 10 月 17 日
2023 年 9 月 27 日

为你的权利而站起来

通过支持我们为我们的财产权利而战,使我们与众不同。
箭头向下

Liberals invoke S.39, refuse to provide evidence

June 16, 2021

Liberals invoke S.39, refuse to provide evidence

Today, Bruce Hughson of the Department of Justice forwarded a notice to the Federal Court concerning our case against the Attorney General of Canada. The notice is to inform the court that the government has invoked Section 39 of the Canada Evidence Act. This is an action that the Clerk of the Privy Council can take to "make secret" any materials the government doesn't want the public to see. This puts the materials, in this case the government's evidence, beyond the reach of anyone, even the courts. Supposedly, this sweeping power is exercised when the material is so sensitive, it is against the public interest to disclose it. 

READ THE NOTICE:

The certificate invoking S. 39 was signed by the Interim Clerk of the Privy Council, Janice Charette. Keep in mind, in late May, Judge Gagne ordered the government to provide its evidence to her alone, not the public. She would then evaluate if the materials were too sensitive for public disclosure. It appears that the government believes the evidence they used to ban up to a million firearms owned exclusively by licensed gun owners is too secret (or dangerous) to have even a federal judge view it.

Many questions come to mind. What is in the government's evidence that's so secret or such a danger to national security that even the Associate Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Canada can't see it? What could it possibly be? Could it be that the government has no evidence at all, and the prohibition is simply a political wedge issue to divide Canadians and secure urban votes? If so, what an incredibly corrupt use of government power that would be. Why wouldn't the government just deal fairly with gun owners? We aren't criminals, we haven't done anything to deserve this.

Regardless, this isn't the worst thing to happen to our case. Our team will ask the Judge to make an "adverse inference" against the government to the effect that whatever it is they are hiding would either hurt their case or at very least not help them. This has the potential to significantly damage their ability to defend. 

Either way, this has become typical of the bad faith dealings of the Liberal Government of Justin Trudeau, Bill Blair & David Lametti the new Attorney General. "Open and transparent government", and "fact-based policy making" they said...

Support the CCFR's case here: https://membership.firearmrights.ca/legal_challenge

Article written by Tracey Wilson

Related Posts

Stand Up For Your Rights

Make a difference by supporting us as we fight for our property rights.
arrow-down